A homeowner sitting in their living room speaking to guests at the door with the Ring app.

Sharing, Unsharing and Deleting Your Ring Videos

Learn how to share, unshare and delete your Ring videos with Shared Video Management.1

Private vs. shared videos

There are two different categories of video files that can be in your Ring account, private and shared.

Private videos: Private videos are the videos recorded and saved by your Ring devices that you and your Shared Users can access through your account. These videos are not available publicly.

You can access your stored videos on the History page of Ring.com, after you sign in, and in the History section on the Ring mobile app. These videos are automatically deleted by default after 60 days in the U.S. and 30 days in some countries outside of the U.S. Videos can be saved up to 180 days.

Shared videos: Shared video links are created when you choose to share a private video on the Ring app or Ring.com, via email, social media (Facebook etc.), or by text. 

When a shared video link is created, a copy of the private video is created and stored separately in a shared video folder. A new URL is then generated and assigned to the shared video. The new URL is publicly accessible, so anyone with the link can view your shared video. This keeps your private videos secure and separate from any newly created shared videos. 

You can share and delete videos from the Ring app or on Ring.com. You can only unshare videos or see where you've shared them on Ring.com. Shared Video Management does not apply to videos that are downloaded.

Unsharing or deleting your videos on Ring.com

To unshare or delete your videos, follow these steps. When you unshare a video, Ring immediately adds it to the queue to be unshared. Please note that the video may still be accessible at the share link for some period of time while we process the request.

  1. Open a web browser on your computer, laptop, tablet, or mobile phone.
    • When you sign in to your account on your computer, laptop, tablet, or mobile phone, use the same email address and password that you use to sign in to the Ring app. You may be asked to verify your account with a code sent to your email or through a text message. 
    • If you cannot remember your Ring password, follow these instructions to
      .
  2. Tap on the History tab.
    • On your computer or laptop, the History tab can be found on the navigation bar on the top of your screen.
    • On a mobile or tablet web browser, the History tab can be found in the menu on the top left of the page (☰), after you sign in. 
  3. In History, tap on View Shared Videos 
    • If you have any previously shared videos they will appear in your filtered event list.
    • A shared video will have a blue arrow icon.
  4. Tap on
    Manage
    and select the shared video you want to manage. 
    • Tap on the
      Unshare
      button.
  5. Follow the prompts to unshare your video and tap the red
    Unshare Video
    button.
    • If a private version of the shared video has not been manually deleted or is still within the Ring Protect plan storage period, you will be asked if you want to delete the private version of the video as well.

After unsharing your video, deleting your private video, or both, you will get a message confirming your actions. Unsharing shared videos will not delete private videos and deleting private videos will not unshare shared videos. When you select a shared video, you will see where you shared your videos, such as Facebook, Twitter, email, etc.

Find out more about downloading and saving videos.

Sharing or deleting your videos from the Ring app 

To share or delete a video(s) from your Ring app, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to your Ring app on your mobile device.
     
  2. On your
    Dashboard
    screen tap on
    History
  3. Click on the right of the event you want to manage.
  4. Tap on the share icon or delete button.

1
Ring Protect subscription required (sold separately). See Ring Protect Subscription Plans for more information. Terms and conditions apply.