Controlling Ring devices with Shared Users

Decide who has access to your Ring devices by adding Shared Users. After setting up a device, you will automatically be assigned the owner user role. As the owner, you can grant additional users access to the device by making them Shared Users.

  • Owner:
    In addition to being able to view cameras and view and share videos, the device owner can add new Shared Users, adjust system settings and change account information.
  • Shared User:
    A Shared User cannot change system settings or account information but can access Live View and view and share videos. Access to particular cameras can be granted or taken away by the owner.

Roles and abilities

Owner

The highest level of access. Their permissions include:

  • Access the users' list from Location Settings.
  • Invite other people to become Shared Users.
  • Add, edit and remove users.
  • Edit, view and delete locations.
  • Add and delete devices from the Base Station.
  • Control and configure devices.
  • View and control a Base Station device.
  • Change account/payment or address information.
  • Access Live View.
  • View and share video clips.
  • Receive and control notifications.
  • View Event History.
  • Assign and change others' access codes.
  • Limit others' access to cameras and doorbells.

Note: The same user can be assigned different roles at different locations. A user can, for example, be listed as owner at one location and as a Shared User at another location.

Shared User

Code: P1-79

Shared Users are able to use some aspects of the system but cannot configure it or change account/payment information. Their permissions include:

  • Access Live View (which cameras the user has access to is determined by the owner).
  • View and share video clips.
  • View History.
  • Receive and control notifications.
  • Lock and unlock connected locks.

Adding, editing and deleting users

Owners add users to the system by inviting them. To invite someone to become a Shared User, you will need their email address. The new user will receive an email telling them how to verify themselves and gain access to the system. Invites are valid for seven days.

To add a Shared User:

  1. In the Ring app, open the menu
    (≡)
  2. Tap
    Settings
  3. Tap
    Shared Access
    , tap
    Add User
    and tap
    Shared User
  4. Enter the Shared User’s email address
  5. Toggle on the preferred devices
  6. Tap
    Send Invite

Note: If you have more than one location with Ring devices, make sure you are inviting users from the correct location:

  • Tap on the address at the top of the menu.
  • Tap the correct location.

To resend an invite:

  1. In the Ring app, open the menu
    (≡)
  2. Tap
    Settings
  3. Tap
    Shared Access
  4. Tap the user
  5. Tap
    Resend Invite

To edit a user:

  • In the Ring app, open the menu
    (≡)
  • If you have more than one location with Ring devices, make sure your app is set to the correct location and, if not, tap on the address at the top of the menu and tap the correct location
  • Tap
    Settings
  • Tap
    Shared Access
  • Tap the user you want to edit
  • Make the desired changes
  • Tap
    Save

To remove a user:

  1. In the Ring app, open the menu
    (≡)
  2. If you have more than one location with Ring devices, make sure your app is set to the correct location and, if not, tap on the address at the top of the menu and tap the correct location
  3. Tap
    Settings
  4. Tap
    Shared Access
  5. Tap the user you want to remove
  6. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap
    Remove User
  7. Tap
    Remove

Camera access

As an owner, you can enable or disable shared access to your Video Doorbells or Security Cameras at any time:

  1. In the Ring app, open the menu
    (≡)
  2. If you have more than one location with Ring devices, make sure your app is set to the correct location and, if not, tap on the address at the top of the menu and tap the correct location
  3. Tap
    Settings
  4. Tap
    Shared Access
  5. Tap a user
  6. Use the toggles to enable or disable access to specific devices for that user
  7. Once you are finished choosing, tap
    Save

Last updated 3 months ago