Hands holding a smartphone displaying a couple in front of a house

Share your feedback with Ring

What is User Feedback

To help us improve our products and services, User Feedback lets you share videos captured by your Ring cameras, chats, and other content, directly with Ring. When you share content, you're helping us understand how our cameras and features perform in real-world situations.

Your feedback helps us identify and fix issues with our detection systems and AI features. When our cameras miss something important, incorrectly identify what's happening in a video, or when our chat gives incorrect responses, sharing that feedback helps our engineers understand what went wrong and improve the technology. Your feedback is extremely valuable for situations involving detection errors, incorrect video descriptions, or missed events that you expected the camera to catch. 


What gets shared

When you share User Feedback, we can receive:

  • The video clip you selected 
  • The chat history you selected and its metadata 
  • The date and time the shared content was created 
  • Your Ring device type and model 
  • Device and video metadata, and location information 
  • Any comments you choose to add 
  • Video descriptions 

Automatic video descriptions describe what is happening in your video, and are only available if you've enrolled in the Video Descriptions feature.

Learn more about Video Descriptions


Sharing TAKE (Throw Away the Key Encryption) and end-to-end encrypted videos with Ring

When you share a TAKE or end-to-end encrypted video through User Feedback, you send Ring an unlocked copy for review. That copy is protected by Ring's standard encryption, not TAKE or end-to-end encryption1. The original video and all other videos in your Ring account, keep their TAKE or end-to-end encryption1 protection.

You can stop sharing a video at any time from Control Center. See Unshare a video below.

Learn more about TAKE (Throw Away the Key Encryption)

Learn more about video end-to-end encryption1


Get started with User Feedback in 30 seconds

  1. In the Ring app, open any video from your Event History Timeline, an active chat, or a chat from your Chat History.
  2. Tap the
    Thumbs up, thumbs down
    button to provide feedback.
  3. Add a comment that describes the detection issue or what went wrong.
  4. Tap
    Submit Video(s) and Text
    to submit your feedback.

Learn more about using your Event History Timeline in the Ring app


How to view your shared content

  1. Open the Ring app.
  2. Tap the
    menu (☰)
    .
  3. Tap
    Control Center.
  4. Tap
    Video and Snapshot Storage.
  5. Select
    Manage
    on either Active Cameras, Past Cameras, or Submitted Chats.
  6. You will see a Shared with R&D tag on all videos you've shared with Ring.
  7. If you included a video with your chat feedback, you will see a Chat Included tag on the videos you've shared with Ring.


How to unshare content

After you unshare a video, this action cannot be undone.

  1. Open the Ring app.
  2. Tap the
    menu (☰)
    .
  3. Tap
    Control Center.
  4. Tap
    Video and Snapshot Storage
    .
  5. Select
    Manage
    on Active Cameras, Past Cameras, or Submitted Chats. 
  6. Find the video or chat you want to stop sharing.
  7. Tap
    Unshare.
  8. Confirm your choice.

Learn more about Control Center in the Ring app


Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

Does Ring publicly share the contents that are shared with Ring?

No. Videos and chats you share through User Feedback are not made public or shared with other Ring users and are stored securely and encrypted. However, when you share feedback with Ring, our teams may review video and chat submissions and use that information to help Ring and its affiliates, such as Amazon, improve and develop AI features, including AI model training.

 

Can I add a message with my video or chat?

Yes, when sharing feedback, you can add comments to explain what you're seeing or what issues you experienced. This helps our team understand your feedback better.

 

Can I delete feedback I've already shared?

Yes, you can stop sharing any video or chat at any time from Control Center. After you stop sharing, Ring will remove the video or chat from our feedback system and no longer access the video or chat going forward. Important note: If your video or chat were already analyzed or used for product improvements before you unshared it, that prior work cannot be undone and Ring could retain or reproduce data that was shared with Ring.

 

Does sharing feedback affect my Ring subscription?

No, user feedback is separate from your Ring subscription and doesn't affect your plan or storage.  What types of videos are helpful to share? The most helpful videos include:

  • Videos where motion detection didn't work as expected
  • Videos showing weather-related performance
  • Any situation where your Ring device didn't perform as you expected
  • Any situation where AI did not have an accurate description


If you have questions about User Feedback or need assistance:

Last updated 2 weeks ago