A homeowner drawing Privacy Zones for a device in the Ring app

Ring Security Cameras and End-to-End Encryption

Learn about video end-to-end encryption (E2EE), an opt-in feature that adds additional layers of protection to video and audio recordings made by compatible enrolled Ring devices.

Ring already encrypts your videos by default when they are uploaded to the cloud (in transit) and stored on Ring’s servers (at rest). Video E2EE provides an additional, advanced encryption option to give customers even more control over who can view their videos. Only your enrolled mobile device has the special key needed to unlock these videos with Video E2EE. It's designed so no one else can view your videos.

Tap to learn how to set up Video E2EE.

Tap to find out the model name of your security camera.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Video End-to-End-Encryption (E2EE)?

Video E2EE is a feature that encrypts the video and audio recordings produced by your compatible enrolled Ring devices. E2EE is designed to encrypt these E2EE videos so that they can only be viewed on enrolled mobile devices.

Can I view Video E2EE videos on my Ring app?

Yes. Video E2EE is designed to limit viewing of E2EE videos to enrolled mobile devices. You will be able to review these videos on an enrolled mobile device using the Ring app.

Is Video E2EE automatically enabled?

No. You will need to opt-in to E2EE through the Ring app. Tap for information on how to opt-in to E2EE.

Why isn’t Video E2EE applied automatically?

We currently use video encryption processes, however, Video E2EE is an enhanced encryption feature. Turning on the Video E2EE feature will automatically disable certain features of your Ring app with respect to enrolled devices. Every neighbor using Ring products will have to decide for themselves whether using this additional layer of encryption is worth the loss of some app functionality.

What Ring features does Video E2EE disable?

Enabling Ring’s Video E2EE will disable the following features for enrolled devices:

  • Shared Users will not be able to view your videos.
  • You will not be able to view encrypted videos on Ring.com, the Windows desktop app or the Mac desktop app.
  • You will not be able to use Live View from multiple mobile devices simultaneously.
  • You will not be able to see camera previews on the Dashboard.
  • You will not be able to share videos or links.
  • You will not be able to use the Event Timeline.
  • You will not be able to see Rich Event Notifications.
  • You will not be able to watch Ring videos on Amazon Echo Show, FireTV, or FireTablet.
  • You will not be able to watch encrypted videos on third-party devices.
  • You will not be able to use Alexa Greetings.
  • You will not be able to use Quick Replies.
  • You will not be able to use Bird's Eye View.

If I disable Video E2EE after turning it on, do I get those features back?

Yes. Although you will need to manually turn on certain features after disabling Video E2EE. The following chart will tell you which features will turn on automatically and which ones you’ll need to re-enable manually:

Feature Name
Is the feature automatically re-enabled after Video E2EE is disenrolled?
Action
Shared Users
No
Re-add Shared Users (See
)
View encrypted videos on Ring.com, Windows desktop app or the Mac desktop app.
Yes
None
Camera previews on the dashboard
Yes
None
Shared Video Links
Yes
None
Event Timeline
Yes
None
Rich Event Notifications
Yes
None
Watching Ring Videos on Amazon Echo Show, FireTV, or FireTablet
Yes
None
Watching encrypted videos on third-party devices
Yes
None
Motion Verification
Yes
None
Person Detection
Yes
None
Snapshot Capture
Yes
None
Bird's Eye View
Yes
None
Pre-Roll
Yes
None

Last updated 8 months ago