Deactivating a Ring Video Doorbell or Security Camera

Important: Make sure your Ring app is updated to the latest version and follow the instructions at the bottom of this page to see if the deactivate feature is available to you. Please read all of the instructions BEFORE deactivating your device to prevent losing access to controls in the Ring app.

Deactivating a Ring Video Doorbell or Security Camera allows you to transfer ownership of the device so it can be used by someone else, while still retaining access to your Event History and, if you have a Ring Protect plan subscription, your videos.

Events appear in your Event History Timeline as a log when: your device detects motion, someone rings your doorbell or you use Live View. When you have a Ring Protect subscription, each of these events is recorded as a video. Video recordings are stored in the cloud according to your plan’s retention period.

Your Event History timeline contains a record of each motion, ring and Live View event:

blobid0.png

Important

Deactivating a device is a permanent action.

  • Deactivating a device in the Ring app and removing a device in the Ring app are two different actions.
  • Deactivating
    a device will allow you to retain your videos.
  • Removing
    a device from your Ring account will cause you to immediately lose access to videos.

A Ring device cannot be transferred to another owner until the device has been deactivated or removed from your Ring account via the Ring app. You cannot deactivate or remove a Ring device via your account on Ring.com, you must use the Ring app. 

What to know about device deactivation

Deactivating a device is a permanent action.

  1. Only the
    can deactivate it.
  2. You won’t be able to control or change any of the device settings after your device is deactivated.
  3. The amount of time your videos are stored depends on your video storage settings.
  4. If you want to change your video storage time,
    before you deactivate your device.
  5. Since videos and events are stored temporarily in your Ring account, based on your account  settings, when videos and events expire they are permanently deleted.
  6. Once your videos and events have expired, the Ring Video Doorbell or Security Camera will be not be shown in your Ring account or Ring app.
  7. You can
    until they expire if you log into your account via Ring.com. You can download videos individually in the Ring app.
  8. can also
    before they’ve expired.

How to deactivate a Ring Video Doorbell or Security Camera

Important: Please read 'What to know about device deactivation' above BEFORE deactivating your device and losing access to controls in the Ring app.

In the Ring app:

  1. Tap the three lines on the top left
  2. Tap
    Device
  3. Tap
    Device Settings
  4. Tap the
    General Settings
    tile
    • You may need to scroll up to see it
  5. Tap
    Deactivate Device
  6. Tap
    Keep Events
    — which includes videos
  7. Tap
    Got It!
    to complete the process

Note: Tapping Remove This Device, instead of Deactivate Device, will cause you to immediately lose access to videos.

Last updated 4 weeks ago