Image of a neighbor holding a smartphone displaying the Neighbors app feed interface.

Neighbours Verified Assigned Areas

An Assigned Area is a hyper-local area within your jurisdiction. Assigned Areas break up a organisation's jurisdiction into smaller, more specific areas such as zones, districts, resident associations and or neighbourhoods. Assigned Areas serve various functions, including: 

  • Allowing Neighbours Verified users to subscribe to receive email alerts specific to an assigned area. 
  • Enabling Neighbours Verified users to tailor their feed to focus solely on an assigned area or revert back to the entire jurisdiction. 
  • Empowering Neighbours Verified users to post messages to one or multiple designated areas simultaneously. 

How do I create an Assigned Area 

  1. Highlight the profile icon in the menu bar and select Assigned Areas. 
  2. Click the polygon symbol located on the top-left corner of the map. 
  3. Begin drawing your assigned area by clicking on the map. To finalise the shape, double-click. (Each click places a yellow pin-point, which defines the designated area on the map) 
    1. Neighbors jurisdiction map outlined with a yellow box (assigned area).
  4. Click the blue circled checkmark button on the bottom of the page. 
  5. Name the Assigned Area and select Create to complete the creation process. 

How do I assign myself to an Assigned Area 

Sign in to publicsafety.ring.com 

Highlight the profile icon in the menu bar and select Assigned Areas. 

From the list on the left, click the Assigned Area you would like to subscribe to. 

How do I unsubscribe from an Assigned Area 

Sign in to publicsafety.ring.com 

Highlight the profile icon in the menu bar and select Assigned Areas. 

From the list on the left, select Not Assigned. 

FAQs 

Is there a limit to the number of assigned areas I can create? 

No, you can create as many assigned areas as you need. 

 

Can I edit or delete an Assigned Area? 

You can easily manage your assigned areas. Simply locate the area you wish to edit or delete and look for the three vertical dots (⋮) displayed next to its name. Clicking on these dots will reveal a menu with options to edit or delete the area. 

 

Will my community see the assigned area name? 

No, the names you assign to your areas are for your internal reference only and will not be displayed to the community. 

 

Can I be assigned to multiple areas at the same time? 

No, while you can't be assigned to several areas simultaneously, you can create a new assigned area encompassing the areas you want to cover. 

Last updated 0 days ago